The Northman and The North Water production teams scoop PGGB Awards

  • News

The NOrth Water The production teams behind feature film The Northman and HETV drama The North Water scooped prestigious gongs at this year’s Production Guild of Great Britain Awards. 

Held in association with Warner Bros. Studios Leavesden, the awards celebrate achievements of PGGB members working in film or television drama within the production office, accounting, locations, assistant directing, post-production and VFX. 

The PGGB Film Production Team of the Year Award went to the production team behind Viking epic The Northman (New Regency/Focus Features), while the High-End TV Production Team of the Year Award was given to five-part miniseries The North Water, produced by See-Saw Films for BBC Two and starring Colin Farrell, Jack O’Connell and Stephen Graham. 


The Northman team The Northman production team 


NOrth Water teamThe North Water production team 

Among the other winners on the night were: Samantha Perahia, British Film Commission head of production UK, who took The PGGB Inspiration Award; Emily Stillman (SVP, Studio Operations WBSL) and actor Charlotte Riley, who won The PGGB Diversity and Inclusion Champion Award for their work in bringing The WonderWorks, the first dedicated childcare facility at a UK film or TV studio, to Warner Bros. Studios, Leavesden; Fay Mohamed, who received The PGGB Spotlight on New Talent Award for the skills she demonstrated while stepping up from production co-ordinator to production manager.


The PGGB Contribution to the Industry Award was presented to Michael G. Wilson and Barbara Broccoli, producers of the James Bond franchise and owners of EON Productions. Finally, the Awards also paid tribute to the life of veteran British television producer and Hartswood Films' founder, Beryl Vertue, who died earlier this year. 

Lyndsay Duthie, PGGB CEO, said: “As British content continues to be in demand, we are delighted to be able to celebrate the achievements of our world class production talent at our prestigious awards ceremony. The winners are all trailblazers and we are so proud of each and every one of them.”

All the PGGB 2022 Award winners were nominated by PGGB’s industry membership and selected by juries of leading industry professionals except the PGGB Contribution to the Industry Award, which is nominated by members and voted on by the PGGB board.


Also on The Knowledge