WFTV UK announce new chair and award winners

In the space of one week Women in Film and Television UK (WFTV) appeared on our radar twice with major announcements.

First up came the news that award-winning producer Elizabeth Karlsen has been named the new chair of the organisation's board of directors.

Karlsen co-founded Number 9 Films with Stephen Woolley in 2002 and her credits include films such as Made In Dagenham, How To Lose Friends & Alienate People, Sounds Like Teen Spirit and Byzantium.

Speaking of her new role, Karlsen said: "I have long been a supporter of Women in Film and Television and am very honoured to be leading the board at this exciting time in the organisation's history. I'm looking forward to working with the board and staff to keep expanding opportunities for our members and all women across the industry."

On top of this announcement, WFTV also hosted their 23rd annual awards ceremony in central London on Friday (6 December) which saw a raft of talented women in the film and television industry get the recognition they deserve.

Among the award-winners were actress Sheridan Smith, the star of MJ Delaney's newly-released film Powder Room; director Penny Woolcock (documentaries One Mile Away, From the Sea to the Land Beyond); producer Pippa Harris (TV series Call the Midwife, Revolutionary Road) and Clio Barnard who took home a directing award for her feature film The Selfish Giant.

Broadcaster Angela Rippon received a Lifetime Achievement award. Her career has spanned more than 50 years in which she has taken on the role of BBC newsreader as well as a presenter on various shows such as Come Dancing, Top Gear and the Antiques Roadshow.

The event was attended by roughly 1,000 people and was hosted by comedian Ruby Wax. Presenting awards were the director of the BFI London Film Festival, Clare Stewart; In the Loop star and upcoming Doctor Who Peter Capaldi; comedy actor James Corden and BBC director general Tony Hall.