Tuxedos at the ready - BAFTA confirms key dates

BAFTA film awardsIt’s time to start planning your outfit and rehearsing your ‘I’m SO glad you won’ face, as BAFTA has announced the full timetable for next year’s prestigious film awards.

The EE British Academy Film Awards 2014 will take place on 16 February at the Royal Opera House, for broadcast by the BBC.

BAFTA has now confirmed that the nominations will be announced on 8 January, the day that voting for round two opens. Other key dates for this year:

13 November = entry deadline

11 December = round one voting opens

19 December = screening deadline for qualified films

3 January = round one voting closes

12 February = round two voting closes

14 February = all entered films to have opened for general release.

To be eligible, a film must be released theatrically in the UK between 1 January and 31 December 2013. Films released between 1 January and 14 February 2014 may be ‘qualified’ by being screened for members no later than 19 December 2013.

The red carpet events get underway with the Nominees’ Party on 15 February, with the glittering international awards ceremony itself the following evening.

The full timetable details are available here.

Have you got a BAFTA tale to tell? Let us know via our Facebook page