The British Comedy Awards 2012: The winners

  • Blog

The cream of UK comedy and entertainment were in force last night for The British Comedy Awards 2012, which took place at The Fountain Studios.

Hunderby lead the way by picking up awards for best sitcom and best new comedy programme. A shy Julia Davis collected the first award for the Sky1 show – after stumbling on the steps to accept the award.

Bowing out after its 12th series, Harry Hill’s TV Burp collected the award for best entertainment comedy programme, absent of its host Harry Hill.

The Thick of It was another series that ended this year, but its lead actors Rebecca Front and Peter Capaldi were awarded with best TV comedy actress and best TV comedy actor.

The devilishly dark and silly Cardinal Burns deservedly won best sketch show; whilst Vic Reeves and Bob Mortimer were awarded the Writers' Guild of Great Britain award.

The final award of the night went to The Dictator and now Hollywood star Sacha Baron Cohen, for his outstanding achievement to comedy. Accepting the award in the guise of Ali G, Cohen received the best newcomer award at the ceremony 13 years ago.

Sponsored by Fosters, the show was produced by CPL Productions and Unique Television.

The full list of winners:

Best comedy entertainment personality: Charlie Brooker
Best sitcom: Hunderby
Best male TV comic: Lee Mack
Best comedy entertainment programme: Harry Hill's TV Burp
Best comedy breakthrough artist: Morgana Robinson
Best TV comedy actress: Rebecca Front
Writers' Guild of Great Britain award: Vic Reeves and Bob Mortimer
Best TV comedy actor: Peter Capaldi
Best female TV comic: Jo Brand
Best sketch show: Cardinal Burns
Best new comedy programme: Hunderby
Outstanding achievement: Sacha Baron Cohen

Full information on the productions mentioned above can be found on Production Intelligence, the online database of advance productions from The Knowledge: